The first step to take in obtaining your real estate broker/associate broker license is to complete the NYS Broker 45 Hour Qualifying Course
2019 Broker Course Begins November 1
Dates: November 1, 4, 5, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20 Final Exam: November 22, 9:30am-12:00pm
Registration deadline is October 28.
Times: Download the informational pamphlet at the bottom of the page for a schedule.
Course fee: $329.00, includes textbook. Early bird pricing through October 21: $299.00
Optional course materials:
Total Recall Learning online study aid available for an additional $32.39 ($29.99+tax)
Cram for the Exam book available for an additional $32.39 ($29.99+tax)
The information above, and more, is printed in the downloadable brochure at the bottom of this page.
GSAR members: Please register online through your member account. The online study aid Total Recall Learning and/or the Cram for the Exam book can be purchased at any time prior to or during the course by contacting the education department at firstname.lastname@example.org or 315-457-5979 x 224.
Non-members: please use the registration form in the pamphlet below.
GSAR also offers an online Broker Qualifying Course. Click here for online course information You may begin the online course at any time.
Online Course Fee : Course only – $259; Course with Total Recall Learning Test Prep – $289;
45 Hr Broker + Total Recall + 30 Hr Remedial Package – $479.
NYS Requirements for the broker/associate broker license:
- be at least 20 years of age
- complete the Broker’s Qualifying course and pass the course exam
- if you took the 45 hour Salesperson Course, you are required to complete the 30 hour Remedial Course, in addition to the Broker Course, to meet the 120-hour education requirement for the broker license. You can take the Remedial Course before or after the Broker Course.
- pass the NYS broker exam
- and have either a minimum of two years experience as a licensed salesperson or three years experience in a related field.
Please review the broker application to learn more about the requirements for the broker/associate broker license.
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Who needs a license? According to Article 12-A of the Real Property Law, “anyone who negotiates any form of real estate transaction for another and for compensation of any kind in the State of New York” needs a license.
What is the difference between a Broker and an associate broker? A Broker is the owner or corporate officer of the firm. The Broker sponsors, trains, and supervises all the real estate activities of the agents for which he/she is responsible. An associate broker works for and under the direction of the sponsoring Broker.
What happens if I take the course but am not ready to apply for my license? Your course completion certificates are valid for 8 years so if, at the end of the course, you’re not ready to apply for your license, you have up to eight years from the date on the course completion certificate to obtain the license. Keep in mind that the state licensing exam results are valid for two years.
If I miss a portion of the Qualifying Course what happens? According to the New York State Department of State, you must complete 90% of the class time in order to pass the course. In other words, being absent for more than 4.5 hours of the broker class results in an automatic failure.
For more FAQs on licensing click here.